2010 Minnesota Preservation Awards

Tonight, the Preservation Alliance of Minnesota presented 16 projects and individuals with a Minnesota Preservation Award at a ceremony held at the new Laird Norton Addition to the Winona County Historical Society. The Awards recognize significant achievement in historic preservation statewide and celebrate those who have chosen to sustainable reuse and reinvest in our existing built resources.

This year, a total of 28 nominations were received, representing everything from small, community-led projects to large-scale, high-profile rehabilitation efforts. The Alliance assembled a distinguished panel of jurors for the difficult task of choosing the award winners. The jury, consisting of six individuals skilled in the fields of architecture, development, historic preservation, and real estate, selected 16 exceptional projects for recognition due to their significant contribution to Minnesota’s preservation accomplishments.

The Preservation Alliance of Minnesota was honored to welcome Charles D. Liddy, Vice President of Miller Dunwiddie Architecture, as our 2010 Awards Chair. Liddy, one of Minnesota’s most respected historic preservation architects, chaired the first Minnesota Preservation Awards in 1985 and many subsequent programs since that initial jury meeting. He served as a board member of the Preservation Alliance of Minnesota for nine years and is Past President of the Minneapolis Chapter of the American Institute of Architects Minnesota.

Over the past 26 years, nearly 300 projects across the state have received recognition through the Minnesota Preservation Awards program in the categories of adaptive reuse, addition/expansion, advocacy, archaeology, career achievement, community effort, education/interpretation, emerging leader, preservation planning, restoration/rehabilitation, stewardship, and sustainable design. A new recognition area for preservation publications was added this year to the education / interpretation category. Awards are presented not on the basis of size or investment, but rather on the merit they provide to their community. A complete list of Minnesota Preservation Award recipients from 1985 through this year’s Awards can be found here.

The new Laird Norton addition to the historic Winona County Historical Society was the site for this year’s festivities, a fitting tribute to the concept behind the Minnesota Preservation Awards recognizing the continued use of our historic assets. Designed by architect Joan Soranno of HGA Architects and Engineers, the new addition compliments the Historical Society’s landmark armory building, but provides a building distinguishable from its historic neighbor that stands as a tribute to the modern needs of museum-goers. The event featured a cocktail and hors d’oeuvres reception, presentation of the Awards, and a reception following the ceremony for Award recipients.

The Minnesota Preservation Awards have been made possible by the generous support of our Heritage Sponsors, Miller Dunwiddie Architecture and HGA Architects and Engineers. In-kind support has been provided by our friends at Drumminhands.com, designers of the 2010 Minnesota Preservation Awards brochure, and the Winona County Historical Society, for hosting this year’s ceremony.

We are proud to recognize projects across Minnesota that demonstrate the link between revitalized historic properties and healthy, vital communities. The Preservation Alliance of Minnesota congratulates the following 2010 Minnesota Preservation Award winners and commend their work in preserving the historic assets that make our communities unique. The 2010 Minnesota Preservation Award honorees, in order of award category, are:

Adaptive Reuse Award

Chicago, Milwaukee, Saint Paul and Pacific Railroad Depot (Wells)

Advocacy Award

Minnesota Legislature and the Building Jobs Coalition for Passage for the Minnesota Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit
Charles Nelson Award for Excellence

Community Effort Award

Chik-Wauk Museum and Nature Center (Grand Marais)
Mantorville Restoration Association (Mantorville)

Education/Interpretation/Publication Award

Alan Lathrop (Minnesota Architects: A Biographical Dictionary)
Lilac Park / Beehives (Saint Louis Park)

Preservation Planning Award

Red Wing Downtown Action Plan (Red Wing)

Restoration/Rehabilitation Award

The Big Fish (Bena)
Pierre Bottineau House (Maple Grove)
Riverview Hall, St. Cloud State University (St. Cloud)
Forum Restaurant (Minneapolis)
Mayo Meditation Room (Minneapolis)

Stewardship Award

Jane Bisel and Stevenson Williams (Rochester)
Chuck and Lorraine Draper (Pipestone)
Split Rock Lighthouse (Two Harbors)

Career Achievement Award

Nina Archabal, Minnesota Historical Society (Saint Paul)