Minneapolis Heritage Preservation Award Winners

The Minneapolis Heritage Preservation Awards — a joint project between Preserve Minneapolis, the Minneapolis Heritage Preservation Commission, and the Minneapolis Chapter of the American Institute of Architects — were announced last week, with winners running the gamut of architectural styles and purposes. Here are the winners, as presented in the award press release. Congratulations to all the worthy recipients:

Ford Center Rehabilitation was honored for a the historic rehabilitation of an landmark building that serves as an anchor for a redeveloping are of the Warehouse District. The rehabilitation incorporates thoughtful new design while respecting historic features like windows, brick facades, and the concrete structure.

Category: Historic Restoration, Rehabilitation, or Adaptive Reuse Project.

Project team: United Properties, HGA Architects, RJM Construction, U.S. Bank NA, U.S. Bank CDC, Winthrop and Weinstine, and Hess, Roise and Company.

Municipal Building Carving Project was honored for meticulously completing, more than 100 years late, the original architect’s intent of carving the building’s name and date of construction into the granite above its main entrance.

Category: New addition to a historic building.

Project team: Municipal Building Commission, Building Restoration Corporation, carver Andy Del Gallo of Eastern Memorials, and MacDonald & Mack Architects.

The Cowles Center was honored for expertly meeting the challenge of incorporating two historically designated buildings, one alley, and one open surface parking lot into an acclaimed arts center in the center of downtown Minneapolis.

Category: New addition to a historic building.

Project team: Artspace, Miller Dunwiddie Architects, LKPB Engineers, Schuler & Shook lighting design, and Robert Rippe and Associates.

Warehouse District Heritage Streets Plan was honored for the project team’s diligent work, in a year-long process, to incorporate the perspectives of City engineers, City planners, neighborhood residents, and preservation experts and to resolve many infrastructure conflicts in a proactive manner rather than an ad hoc basis.

Category: Preservation Planning.

Project team: Beth Elliott, Principal City Planner;  Brian Schaffer, Senior City Planner; The Minneapolis Heritage Preservation Commission; Minneapolis Public Works; Technical Advisory Committee members Joan Willshire, Karen Rosar, Darwin Lookingbill, Denita Lemmon, Anna Flintoft, Robert Carlson, Leslie Coburn, and Alex Haecker; along with consultant teams BONESTROO Engineering, Lindberg Consulting, MacDonald & Mack Architects, and Landscape Research LLC.

Friends of the Cemetery was honored for their innovative advocacy efforts, in particular their first-ever benefit concert at Minneapolis Pioneers and Soldiers Cemetery, which drew and educated a diverse audience of city residents.

Category: Community Education and Advocacy.

Project team: Friends of the Cemetery, Sue Hunter Weir, and Aaron Hanauer, and participating musicians Lucy Michelle and the Velvet Lapelles, and Jeremy Messersmith.

Whittier Alliance was honored for creating a Historic Preservation Neighborhood Calendar which shows examples of historic preservation and historic assets in the neighborhood, and is a model of an innovative an educational tool and resource.

Category: Community Education and Advocacy.

Project team: Whittier Alliance

Kathleen Anderson received the Steve Murray Award, the top individual honor for preservation in Minneapolis. The award recognizes Ms. Anderson’s years of service and dedication to the City and to the Minneapolis Heritage Preservation Commission, on which she served from 1987 and served until 2010, attending more than 500 meetings and participating in countless deliberations instrumental to historic preservation in the city.


Comments Closed