2011 Minnesota Preservation Award Winners


A5_BaseCamp_After_Exterior_North view
The Boy Scout Base Camp at Fort Snelling: Location of the 2011 Minnesota Preservation Awards and winner of the Restoration/Rehabilitation Award for its innovative transformation utilizing sustainable design and meeting the Secretary of the Interior’s Standards for Rehabilitation.

This is no ordinary year for the Minnesota Preservation Awards—it’s extraordinary as the Preservation Alliance of Minnesota (PAM) celebrates its 30th anniversary. Since our founding in 1981, PAM has been a part of some of the most important preservation successes in Minnesota, from testifying to save Minneapolis’ State Theater in 1985 to helping pass the state historic tax credit in 2010 and re-launch the Minnesota Main Street Program in 2010. Now, PAM looks ahead to our next 30 years with a focus on the successes and best practices exemplified by this year’s Award winners.

Over the past 27 years, more than 300 projects across the state have received recognition through the Minnesota Preservation Awards program. Awards are selected based on the creativity and quality of the project, the dedication and savvy of a group or individual, or most important, a positive preservation outcome.

This year, a total of 35 nominations were received, representing everything from small, community-led projects to large-scale, high-profile rehabilitation efforts. PAM assembled a distinguished panel of jurors for the difficult task of choosing the award winners. The jury consisted of six individuals skilled in the fields of architecture, engineering, historic preservation, land use planning, and real estate. The jury was chaired by Mark Swenson, FAIA, President of ESG Architects, AIA North Central States Regional Director, and 2009 Minnesota Preservation Award Career Achievement Award Winner. The jury selected the 15 exceptional
projects you see in this program for recognition with a 2011 Minnesota Preservation Award.

Adaptive Reuse Award

Eitel Building City Apartments, Minneapolis

Pine River Depot, Pine River

Renaissance Box, St. Paul

Laird Norton Addition to the Winona County History Center, Winona

Advocacy Award

Maxine Ronglien, Owatonna

Jackson Preservation Alliance, Jackson

Community Effort Award

Samuel J. Hewson House, Minneapolis


Interpretation Project, Chicago Ave. and 26th St., Minneapolis

Union Depot Historic Structures Report (HSR), St. Paul

Emerging Leader

Preserve Minneapolis, Minneapolis

Restoration/Rehabilitation Award

Boy Scout Base Camp, Building 201, Fort Snelling, Hennepin County

Pence Building, Minneapolis

Stewardship Award

Our Lady of Lourdes Catholic Church, Minneapolis

Sustainable Design Award

Welcome Center at the University of Minnesota – Morris, Morris

Career Achievement Award

Charles Liddy, FAIA
Charles Nelson Award for Excellence